top of page

Martha Empowers Podcast

Updated: Feb 15, 2021

As we honor the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., I am reminded by one of his power quotes -- “Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, “What are YOU doing for others?”


I honor Dr. King by fulfilling a call in my life to continue to serve la comunidad in 2021 and beyond by starting and releasing the first episode of the Martha Empowers Podcast today.


The Martha Empowers podcast is a digital platform and an inclusive space to converse, celebrate and share stories about what it means to be a 1st generation college student in the United States trying to navigate the college and financial aid process as well as discuss topics relevant to college students today.


In the spirit of comunidad, I recognize the collective power of collaboration that together we can promote educational and social justice in our communities so the Martha Empowers Podcast will feature guest interviews and conversations with some of my former students, college graduates, colleagues in higher education, career professionals, and community, civil rights leaders to share their own story of adversity and provide some college advice/consejos to new generations.


This community created podcast will work with educators, students, teachers, counselors, and leaders to help our comunidad better understand the college process so I invite you to reach out to me to develop an important topic tailored to our community needs. This podcast will feature bilingual language in English/Spanish and some episodes in Spanish to make it accessible to a greater audience.


My first guest is Dr. Alfonso Montero, one of the very first students I started mentoring in higher education who as a Latino male from the barrio in Chicago was not supposed to make it to college but graduated with a doctorate degree in education, traveled to over 85 difference countries, and founded of Universum Leadership Alliance (ULA).


In a way, this is an extension of my activism and professional work that you may be familiar with in a digital format. If you are new welcome, bienvenidxs. It is my highest calling and message from my ancestors to walk this educational journey with you and our community.


Enjoy the first episode and I look forward to connecting with you in the future. Échale muchas ganas y hasta pronto!



3 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page